Yongjusa Temple is located near Yungneung and Geolleung Royal Tombs. This site was originally the location of Garyangsa Temple, which was constructed in 854, the 16th year of King Munseong of the Silla Kingdom. The temple was very famous as it was surrounded by beautiful mountains and crystal clear waters. However, the temple was destroyed by fire during the Byungjahoran (the second Manchu invasion of Korea).
During the Joseon dynasty, King Jeongjo moved the tomb of his father to this spot, and built Yongjusa Temple here to pray for the repose of his father’s soul. It is said that one night before the temple was completed, King Jeongjo dreamt of a dragon ascending to the sky holding a magic ball in its mouth. He therefore named the temple “Yongjusa”, which means the temple of a dragon with a magic ball in Korean.
The courtyard of the temple contains the Bronze Bell of Yongjusa Temple, National Treasure No. 120; a stone pagoda; Daeungbojeon (the main hall); and Cheonboru Pavilion. Visitors to Yongjusa Temple can also find the “Bumoeunjunggyeong” books, which were written by King Jeongjo on the subject of filial affection and respect for one’s parents. These days Yongjusa temple and the Yungneung and Geolleung tombs are highly valued for their cultural heritage.
www.yongjoosa.or.kr (Korean only)
Experience Guide : [Templestay]
Contact and Information : • 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info: +82-31-234-0040
Parking facilities : Available
Day off : [Filial Piety Museum] Closed on Mondays
Individuals - Adults 1,500 won / Teenagers 1,000 won / Children 700 won
Groups - Adults 1,300 won / Teenagers 800 won / Children 500 won
Filial Piety Museum
136, Yongju-ro, Hwaseong-si, Gyeonggi-do