424, Olympic-ro, Songpa-gu, Seoul
• 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese) • For more info: +82-2-2147-2800
The Hanseong Baekje Cultural Festival is held at
Peace Square of Olympic Park in Seoul. The festival is a leading traditional cultural festival of Seoul, highlighting the 493 years of history and culture of Hanseong Baekje.
Hanseong Baekje refers to the era between 18 BCE and 275 CE of Baekje - one of the Three Kingdoms of Korea, together with Goguryeo and Silla-- before it moved its capital to Ungjin (now Gongju) in 475. The festival features various folk performances, musical, family concert, food festival, and photo contest.
1111, Bonghwa-ro, Bonghwa-eup, Bonghwa-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do
• 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese) • For more info: +82-54-679-6313~5
Bonghwa’s song-i mushrooms (pine mushroom) are regarded as a special delicacy, they grow only on the very best types of pine trees called ‘Chunyangmok Pine Trees’. They can be stored for long periods of time. At the Bonghwa Pine Mushroom festival, visitors will be able to observe the mushrooms in their natural habitat, and get the chance to harvest them. They will also be able to sample various alcohols and specialty dishes made from the delicious pine mushroom.
49, Pilbongsan-gil, Hamyang-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
• 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese) • For more info: +82-55-964-3353, 960-5193
Hamyang Wild Ginseng Festival is held at Hamyang Sangrim Forest, Natural Monument No. 154. The area of Hamyang stretches across Jirisan Mountain and Deokusan Mountain and features high quality wild ginseng and herbs that bring many domestic and overseas visitors to the area. This healthy well-being festival helps to promote and distribute wild ginseng and herbs produced in Hamyang.
154, Dosanseowon-gil, Dosan-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
Dosan Confucian Academy was established in 1574 (7th year under the reign of King Seonjo), by the disciples and others who cherished their memories of the premier Lee Hwang.
Dosan Lecture Hall was an academy where Toegye Lee Hwang taught his students and concentrated on his academic studies. In 1574 (the 7th year under the reign of King Seonjo (1567~1608)) of the Joseon Dynasty (1392~1910), Confucian scholars established a shrine called Sangdeoksa. In 1969, it was designated as a National Treasure No. 170. After placing the mortuary and performing the sacrificial rites, they finished the Lecture Hall by building Jeongyodang (National Treasure No.210) and the West and East Wings (where scholars could study). When the Lecture Hall was finished King Seonjo bestowed the sign.
When you enter the main entrance there is Dosan Lecture Hall on the right. The structure of the building is simple with the square pillars and simple structures of the girders inserted in the crosspieces. If you go up behind the Lecture Hall and pass the Jindo Gate, there is Gwangmyeongsil where books are stored. You can also find the main building, Jeongyodang and the West and East Wings.
Behing Jeongyodang there is Sangdeoksa and Jangpangak, a tree to print the ‘Dosan 12 Songs’. Okjingak, which was rebuilt in 1970, is now an exhibit building for the relics of Toegye such as his stationary, furniture, and his favorite books etc.
138, Bukhangang-ro 855beon-gil, Joan-myeon, Namyangju-si, Gyeonggi-do
Located in Joan-myeon, Namyangju-si, Gyeonggi-do, KOFIC Namyangju Studios is a film-making studio complex built on a 1,323,113㎡ site with an outdoor filming studio, 6 indoor studios of different sizes, a recording studio, and various film-making equipment.
More specifically, the complex has large-scale outdoor sets that were made to shoot Korean movies J.S.A. and Chihwaseon (Painted Fire). Additional attractions of the park include a miniature exhibition hall that shows props used in the 3D animation movie Wonderful Days and its film making process, the Film Culture Museum where visitors can learn about the birth and technological development of films as well as the film making process, the video experience hall where visitors can have hands-on experience in the world of visuals and audio, the video principle experience hall where one can experience and learn the basic principles of films, a wardrobe department, a prop room, and the Cine Theater that screens a Korean film every month for free.
40, Sejong-daero, Jung-gu, Seoul
Sungnyemun Gate is Korea’s National Treasure No. 1, and its unofficial name is Namdaemun Gate. Sungnyemun Gate is the largest castle gate stone structure with an arched entrance in the middle. There’s a column on top of a platform, raising the roof, distinguishing the upper stories and lower stories of the building. Passageways for traffic are located at the east and west ends of the gate. Different from the other gates, Sungnyemun Gate’s tablet has its name written vertically.
On February 10, 2008, Sungnyemun was destroyed by fire. After a 5-year reconstruction work, the gate was re-opened to the public again as of May 4, 2013.
29, Dalmaji-gil 117beon-gil, Haeundae-gu, Busan
OPERA Restaurant is located at Dalmaji Hill in Haeundae. The five-story building with a terrace on each floor resembles the balcony section of a performance hall. There's a karaoke on the first floor, a wine and whiskey bar on the second floor, a restaurant on the third floor, and a cafe on the fourth and fifth floors. The location also gives the patrons a good view of the sea.
161, Daepo-ro, Seogwipo-si, Jeju-do
Located in Daepohang Hoe Town, an area where ‘hoe’ (sliced raw fish) restaurants are gathered, is Keun Gaetmul Hoetjip, a two-story modern restaurant with a large parking space and a great view of the ocean.
The exceptionally hygienic condition of the restaurant and the kitchen is quite impressive.
6, Gubong-ro, Dong-gu, Busan
Seoul Samgyetang has branched out to include locations in Busan, such as this shop in Choryang, Dong-gu, Busan. The restaurant specializes in samgyetang (ginseng chicken soup) but also serves ori baeksuk (whole duck soup with rice), oribokkeumtang (spicy duck stew), agu jjim (spicy stewed monkfish) and others.
8, Myeongdong 10-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul
Located in Myeong-dong Street, Jung-gu, Seoul, the Frisbee Myeong-dong Branch is an Apple store with three floors aboveground, comprising the shop on the first floor, the Apple product education center on the second floor, and the customer service center on the third floor. The shop sells all Apple products, including CPUs, iPads and iPhones, and provides product demonstrations and a product consultation service. Most of the employees can speak at least one foreign language. The shop also sells diverse accessories for electronic equipment and appliances, including speakers, cases, keyboards, mouse, etc. and stocks many famous brands including Belkin, Logitech and Sony. The education center on the second floor teaches customers how to utilize Apple’s products more efficiently. The Myeong-dong Branch of Frisbee Korea is open all year round. Opening hours are 11am to 9pm on weekdays, and 9am to 8:30pm on Sundays. However, it only opens from 1pm to 8pm during the Seollal (Korean New Year’s Day) and Chuseok (Korean Thanksgiving Day) holidays.
2 floor, 6, Daecheong-ro 155beon-gil, Jung-gu, Busan
Dawon Hoganbo Co. is headquartered in Seoul and operates branch offices in China, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Macau, and other Asian countries. The company’s main product, HD-1 tab.Gold, is a health supplement made from Hovenia dulcis extract, which is known to be effective in protecting the liver and improving its functions.
The Busan Branch Office, which has a total shop area of 499.83m2, was established in March 2017. Its central hall displays various HD-1 Tab.Gold products. The office also has a sales room for group customers, and its employees provide foreign language services in English, Cantonese, Taiwanese, Chinese, and Malaysian among other languages. The parking lot is situated on the first floor. Large buses can park in front of the building. The management office controls parking separately.
29, Hancheon-ro, Jeju-si, Jeju-do
Jeju Charm & Charm is a duty-free store specializing in cosmetic products. Most of the customers are individual and group tourists from Southeast Asia. It mostly sells products made by UGB, a cosmetic brand known for using red ginseng in cosmetic products. Besides this brand, it carries most of the popular Korean cosmetic brands. UGB is a high-quality medicinal herb cosmetic product made of ginseng, red ginseng, and mountain ginseng. Jeju Charm & Charm’s lineup of products at the store includes collagen masks, ampoules, creams, and other types of cosmetic products. Popular Korean cosmetic brands such as Koreana, Missha, Laneige, and The Face Shop can also be found at the store. The store occupies the entire 1st floor, which is spacious and pleasant. All the sales staff can speak Chinese.
6, Cheonbyeonjwa-ro 428beon-gil, Nam-gu, Gwangju
ARIENE GUESTHOUSE is a four-story building with one basement and three floors aboveground. Located in Yangrim-dong, Namgu, Gwangju Metropolitan City, it consists of guestrooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors with amenities such as seminar room, sports equipment, and cafe on the 1st floor and the basement level. ARIENE GUESTHOUSE is the ideal accommodations for family guests with a child. Its interior was made with eco-friendly materials and decorated with penguin characters including Dongaebi, the mascot of Penguin Village in Yangrim-dong, creating a friendly atmosphere for children. The guesthouse is only 5 minutes away by car from Sajik Park, which is known for its observation tower, and about 10 minutes away from Gwangju Metro's Culture Complex Station and Namgwangju Station on foot. The room rate is inclusive of breakfast in western style (toast, coffee, fruits, and vegetables) or Korean style whose menu changes every day.
46-14, Hyowon-ro 219beon-gil, Paldal-gu, Suwon-si, Gyeonggi-do
'Suwon Hotel Como is located in Paldal-gu, Suwon, which is very close to the city's landmark, Hwaseong Fortress (UNESCO World Heritage). It has a buffet-style cafeteria with floor area of 430m², a 20-seater conference room, and a business center furnished with computers and fax machine for the convenience of families, group tourists, and business travelers. All the guestrooms are also furnished with a computer. A simple breakfast is served for free. Room services include laundry, soda, and drinking water. The hotel offers pick-up services from/to anywhere in downtown Suwon as well as a shuttle bus for those who need it. For more information on the pick-up and shuttle bus services, call the hotel or visit their website.
107, Jangseong-ro, Maengdong-myeon, Eumseong-gun, Chungcheongbuk-do
The Geoseong Hotel, located in Chungbuk Innovation City, Eumseong County, Chungcheongbuk-do Province, was opened in December 2016. The hotel comprises seven floors above ground and one basement level, and has 65 guestrooms in total. Each room is basically equipped with two beds and a work table. The Deluxe Twin Rooms have 2 single beds; the Family Twin Rooms have 1 single bed and 1 double bed; and the Junior Suites have 2 double beds. There is a brand café on the first floor, and a parking lot and self-service laundry room in the basement level.. The room rate includes breakfast for two people. Guests can choose between the morning set comprising a sandwich and a coffee at the café (1F), or a Korean meal at the Ox Bone Soup Restaurant situated next to the hotel. The Geoseong Hotel aims to provide ‘customer-oriented’ services, and is staffed with competent employees who have experience of working at top-class hotels in the capital area. The hotel is just 5 minutes’ walk from the Chungbuk Innovation City Bus Terminal, 15 minutes’ drive from Wonnam Reservoir, and 25 minutes’ drive from Baegya Recreation Forest.
71, Wiryeseong-daero, Songpa-gu, Seoul
Opened on April 30, 2012, Seoul Baekje Museum (interchangeably called Hanseong Baekje Museum) was established by the Seoul Government in order to preserve the artifacts related to Seoul's 2,000 year old history and to shed light on Seoul's cultural identity. The museum is located inside Olympic Park, overlooking Monchontoseong Fortress.
100, Ihwajang-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul
Located in Dongsung-dong, Daehangno, the Lock Museum displays an impressive array of locks. The owner of the museum, Mr. Choi Hong-gyu worked as a hardware shop employee most of his life and ran his own store, Choi Family Hardware in Gangnam. In November 2003, he invested all of his fortune to open the Lock Museum. This unique museum exhibits locks, keys, and key holders from around the world. The museum aims to collect, preserve, and study Korean locks and to promote their beauty and scientific design worldwide.
The Lock Museum is an important spot in which visitors are exposed to new perspectives on locks. It offers visitors the opportunity to understand the cultural and aesthetic meaning of them. Centered on visitors, the museum continues to be a facilitator of cultural communication between visitors and locks.
234, Gongnyongbangmulgwan-gil, Hwangsan-myeon, Haenam-gun, Jeollanam-do
The area of Haenam Uhang-ri is designated as Natural Monument No. 394 since the area remains not only a fossil district with footprints of dinosaurs, pterosaurs, and birds, but also has a rich geologic history. So, Haenam-gun created the Haenam Uhangri Dinosaur Museum in order to showcase the natural heritage and experience the dinosaur exhibition such as a 4D video room and special exhibition. The museum is the very first dinosaur museum in the southwest region of Korea and features plenty of dinosaur remains and other related exhibits.
1383, Gimyujeong-ro, Chuncheon-si, Gangwon-do
When the Gyeongchun Line, a double-tracked railway line connecting Seoul and Chuncheon, opened on December 20, 2010, it replaced the Mugunghwa train that traveled this route for 70 years. Built on the discontinued train line, Gangchon Rail Park is a popular tourist attraction where visitors can pedal along old railroad tracks while taking in the lovely Bukhangang River scenery.
44, Munsu-ro, Nam-gu, Ulsan
Ulsan Munsu Football Stadium is surrounded by a thick forest. There are Marronnier and Byeokcheon Squares near the entrance to the stadium. Rock carvings Bangudae (National Treasure No. 285) and Cheonjeolligakseok (National Treasure No. 147) successfully recreate life as it was many years ago.
241, Dongho-ro, Jung-gu, Seoul
Jangchung Gymnasium is Korea’s first domed gymnasium and opened Februrary 1st, 1963. The gym holds diverse athletic events such as basketball, volleyball and handball competitions as well as boxing, wrestling, weight-lifting and ssireum (Korean traditional wrestling). The gym also presents other cultural performances and events including international competitions, concerts and madangnori. The Jangchung Fitness Club, is also located within the facility and offers monthly memberships.