Uirimji, originally called Yimji, is a reservoir that was created during the Three Kingdoms Era. Due to its long history, it is one of the most famous reservoirs in Chungcheong-do and was designated Monument No. 11 of Chungcheongbuk-do.
The reservoir is 1.8 kilometers in circumference and 151,470 square meters in water surface area and has a depth of 8-13 meters. It supplies water to around 289.4 jeongbos (unit) of farmland and was one of the 3 major reservoirs of the Three Kingdoms Era along with Byeokgolje of Gimje and Susanje of Miryang. With a water gate built of onggi (earthenware), Uirimji is also a valuable historical site for studying farming methods.
The reservoir is one of the main tourist attractions of Jecheon. Attractions around the reservoir include Yeonghojeong Pavilion (erected in 1807 in the 7th year of King Sunjo) and Gyeonghoru Pavilion (built in 1948). The traditional beauty of the structures is accented by the neighboring ancient pine and willow trees and the 30 meter-high waterfall. Nearby attractions include the Pine Field Park, National Archery Field, and Parkland.
Among the local specialties of the region are Gongeo fish which can only be seen during the spawning season that takes place during early spring. Enjoyed only for a short time each year, the fish is largely popular among tourists visiting the area.
Experience Guide : Cultural Explanation reservation: March-October 10:00-18:00 / November-February 10:00-17:00
Contact and Information : • 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info: +82-43-651-7101
Parking facilities : Available
Day off : N/A (Open all year round)
Variety show "1 Night 2 Day"
Waterfall, pavilions, information office
33, Uirimji-ro, Jecheon-si, Chungcheongbuk-do