Banghwasuryujeong Pavilion, officially called Dongbukgangnu Pavilion, was built in 1794 during the construction of Suwon Hwaseong Fortress. It sits atop a hill east of Hwahongmun Gate and offers beautiful views of the surrounding scenery. For this reason, the pavilion received the nickname Banghwasuryujeong, meaning a pavilion where one can "find flowers and stroll among willow trees." The pavilion was once damaged due to flooding and reconstructed in 1848, followed by continuous recovery and preservation efforts. In 2011, the pavilion was designated as Treasure No. 1709. Banghwasuryujeong Pavilion is evaluated as one of the most original architectures in Hwaseong for its unique composition and roof design that offer a different look depending on the viewer's angle. Known to be the spot where King Jeongjo would stop by to rest on his way to Hwaseong Fortress, the pavilion offers a bird's-eye-view of Yeonmudae Post to the east and Janganmun Gate to the west with Paldalsan Mountain in the background.
Contact and Information : • 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info: +82-31-228-4676
910, Jeongjo-ro, Paldal-gu, Suwon-si, Gyeonggi-do