Mangyangjeong Pavilion is a beautiful wooden architecture located near Mangyang Beach in Sanpo-ri, Uljin. King Sukjong of the Joseon dynasty, upon seeing the paintings of the “Eight Scenic Sights in Eastern Korea,” picked the pavilion as the best one among them; he personally wrote Gwandongjeilru (The Best Pavilion in Eastern Korea) and ordered it to be hung in the pavilion.
While it was originally located in Hyeonjongsan Mountain in Hyeonjong, Mangyangjeong Pavilion was moved to its current spot in 1858 and rebuilt in 1958. The pavilion is situated atop a hill dotted with pine trees, where one can get a clear view of Wangpicheon Stream flowing to the sea. Records are found describing that the area was visited by King Sukjong and other prominent figures in Korean history for the astounding views seen from the pavilion.
Mangyang Beach is shallow and narrow, but it is relatively warm among the beaches on the east coast. With a lush pine forest along the shore, the beach is quiet year-round, making it a pleasant attraction to walk and relax. When the waves are calm, visitors can see Turtle Rock protruding out from the ocean. The beach is a popular destination for summer travelers thanks to the numerous nearby attractions including Seongryugul Cave (Natural Monument No. 155) and Bulyeonggyegok Valley.
www.uljin.go.kr (Korean only)
Contact and Information : • 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info +82-54-789-6923
Parking facilities : Available
Sanpo-ri, Uljin-gun, Gyeongsangbuk-do