4.4Km 2022-07-22
+82-41-953-2230
Surrounded by majestic pine trees, Huirisan Mountain boasts an outstanding landscape; there is a reservoir at the foot of the mountain. Upon climbing to the top of the mountain, visitor can overlook the scenic West Sea. There are also numerous attractions near Huirisan: Chunjangdae Beach, Geumgang River Banks, and Hansan Mosi Town (“Mosi” referring to “Ramie,” the predominant fabric used for traditional Korean clothing)
The top of the mountain (329m in x_height) is called Munsubong (or Munsu Peak). To the northwest of the Huirisan Pine Tree Recreational Forest is Saindae. Legend goes that four generals used to play there. Indeed, there is a cliff (140m in x_height) just below Saindae where they were believed to do chin-ups. Naturally, people call the area Teokgeolijang (Chin-Up Spot). Traces of Munsusa Temple still remain below Munsubong although it was said to have been destroyed by a huge number of bedbugs. 500m from Munsubong to the south, horse riding trails of the four generals are dotted along the ridge; Malttongbawi (Horse Dung Rock), resembling horse droppings, is 500m from the peak to the southeast.
Below Munsubong are four large peaks where the four generals lived and 100 small rocks beneath them that were home to low ranking men commanded by the generals. Because of their unique shapes, those rocks form a scenic sight while hiking in Huirisan.
8.9Km 2025-10-23
66 Seowon-ro 172beon-gil, Gisan-myeon, Seocheon-gun, Chungcheongnam-do
+82-41-953-5895
Munheonseowon Confucian Academy was established to pay tribute to the memory of Lee Gok (1298-1351) and Lee Saek (1328-1396) who were well-respected for their writings and character. The school was originally built in 1594, but was burnt down during the Imjin War (1592-1598). It was rebuilt in 1610 and became a legislated private institute in 1611.
The academy consists of an educational area and a shrine. Mortuary tablets of five Confucian scholars including Lee Jong-hak, Lee Ja, Lee Gae as well as Lee Gok and Lee Saek were enshrined at the school.
9.4Km 2024-04-07
120, Cheolsae-ro, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-454-3353
Geumgang Estuary Bank was completed in 1990 as part of an agricultural development project for 6 cities and counties in Chungcheongnam-do and Jeollabuk-do. The Korea Agricultural and Rural Infrastructure Corporation invested approximately 100 billion won for the project and the construction lasted for 8 years. The estuary bank can hold up to 130 million tons of water. The 1,840-meter long bank serves a bridge that connects Chungcheongnam-do to Jeollabuk-do.
Aside from being the source of water for agricultural and industrial use in Jeollabuk-do and Chungcheongnam-do, the bank also provides flood control for the area around Geumgang River. It helps keep Gunsanhang Port operational by preventing soil
and sand from accumulating at the mouth of the river. It also prevents the backwash of seawater from causing damage to farmlands. Geumgang Estuary Bank has an important role as a tourist destination by connecting Gunsan and Janghang.
9.4Km 2024-04-07
149 Naehang 2-gil, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
Gunsan Daejeon Hoetjib is a popular local recommendation known for its fresh sliced raw fish and upscale side dishes. Located just a 10-minute drive from Gunsan Port, customers can enjoy their meal while admiring the view of Dongbaekdaegyo Bridge and the inner harbor of Gunsan. The signature menu item is the modeum hoe (assorted sliced raw fish) featuring a variety of fish such as flatfish, rockfish, sea bass, and sea bream, along with steamed lobster.
9.8Km 2024-04-07
442 Imhae-ro, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
Gunsan Port, established in 1899, is the port of Gunsan. During the Japanese colonial period, Gunsan prospered as a trading port. Modern buildings from that era still remain around Gunsan Port, creating a nostalgic atmosphere often referred to as a "time-travel village." Nearby attractions include the Gunsan Modern History Museum and the Sinheung-dong Japanese-style House Street.
9.8Km 2024-04-07
26-3, Wolmyeonggongwon 1-gil, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-63-450-4000
Wolmyeong Park is a popular tourist destination in Gunsan and
connects five mountains in the vicinity. The park has 12 kilometers of walking trails, as well as an observatory, sculpture park, and various monuments. From Susi Tower, which resembles a flame or wind-blown sail, people can see all of downtown Gunsan, the sea to the south of Gunsan, the mouth of the Geumgang River, and the large Janghang smelting factory.
The park has well-arranged gardens and 30-year old rattan and cherry trees. A cherry blossom photo contest is held every April, when the park is covered in cherry blossoms.
9.9Km 2025-03-05
25 , Guyeong 2-gil, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
+82-10-8098-2202
Guesthouse Yeojeong (‘Journey’) stands on Modern Culture Street in Gunsan, Jeollabuk-do, and offers two types of accomodation: Korean-style ondol-heated rooms and a room with wooden bunk beds. The owner lives on the first floor and takes good care of the guests. In the common living room, there are books, music, and photos and paintings of Gunsan from the 1920s and 1930s - giving it a bohemian feel. A simple breakfast of toast, eggs, coffee and fruit is provided. Tourist attractions such as Chowon Photo Studio, Iseongdang Cafe, and Dongguksa Temple are all reachable on foot.
9.9Km 2025-07-11
1089 Chungjeol-ro, Seocheon-gun, Chungcheongnam-do
+82-41-957-9045
Ramie fabric is a traditional Korean cloth with good ventilation, making it the fabric of choice for summer clothing. Hansan’s ramie is used to make high-end clothing due to its delicate and elegant texture. It is also an eco-friendly fiber that is extracted from ramie grass and weaved into a loom. Hansan’s ramie weaving was registered as a UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage in 2011 in recognition of its unique production technology as well as its ability to strengthen community solidarity in the process. At the Hansan Ramie Fabric Cultural Festival, visitors can participate in the “Ramie School” program and learn the weaving process. Other attractions include Gilssam Nori, a ramie-weaving work, and a fashion show featuring clothes made from Hansan ramie is a highlight not to be missed.
◎ Tip
During the festival, a free shuttle bus operates from the Hansan Mosi Hall parking lot to the festival venue.
10.0Km 2024-04-07
57 Dongnyeong-gil, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
Binhaewon is a Chinese restaurant located in the Jjambbong Street in Gunsan. Established in 1952 by ethnic Chinese settlers who arrived in Gunsan after the Korean War, it stands as the oldest Chinese restaurant in the area. Preserving the life, culture, and architectural style of the ethnic Chinese community, it was designated as a cultural heritage site in 2018. The signature dish is jjamppong (spicy seafood noodle soup), a spicy seafood noodle soup known for its hearty broth and chewy noodles.
10.1Km 2024-04-07
63 Guyeong 3-gil, Gunsan-si, Jeonbuk-do
063-446-5491
Hanilok is a must-visit Korean restaurant in Gunsan. Its flagship dish is the hanu muuguk (Korean beef and radish soup) made with Korean beef. Other menu items include hanu yukhoe bibimbap (Korean beef tartare bibimbap), dakguk (chicken soup), and galbitang (galbi soup), all of which promise delightful flavors. Housed in a Japanese-style building constructed in 1937 and renovated into a restaurant, Hanilok also offers the fun of exploring antique exhibits on the second floor.