17.6Km 2025-08-12
51, Hahoegangbyeon-gil, Pungcheon-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-857-3410
Rakkojae, meaning “a place where one can enjoy ancient traditions and rest one’s soul”, is located near the beautiful ferry on the Nakdonggang River in Hahoe, Andong. After passing by a pine tree decorated with traditional Korean lanterns and entering the cozy courtyard, visitors will find four well-maintained houses with thatched-roofs made with local rice straw. As Rakkojae is some way from the Hahoe Village, and is adjacent to the Nakdonggang River, guests can enjoy walking along the ferry and the walkway while appreciating the beautiful scenery of the river and Buyongdae Cliff with its serene atmosphere. Rakkojae has three guest accommodations – the anchae at the front, the sarangchae and the byeolchae on the sides, and the munganchae. While the anchae has two rooms, a kitchen and a daecheong (main floored room), both the sarangchae and the byeolchae consist of a daecheong and one room. The maximum number of guests per room is ten so that guests can enjoy their stay with ease. Each room is decorated with hanji (traditional Korean paper handmade from mulberry trees) and features a simple built-in closet, ceiling-type air conditioning, and a modern bathroom with a toilet and a bathtub made of Hinoki cypress. In particular, the munganchae has a red clay jjimjilbang (Korean dry sauna) supplied with mugwort that is popular among both domestic and foreign guests. Guests often enjoy relaxing at Rakkojae by appreciating the sunshine and breeze while lying on the daecheong floor, walking barefoot on the earthen ground, and drinking makgeolli (unrefined rice wine)among other activities. The owners of Rakkojae hope that it will be a place where guests can heal their tired body and mind and experience the true atmosphere of Korea. The Pine Wood of Mansongjeong Pavilion (Natural Monument No. 473) situated next to Rakkojae is also a good place for a stroll. Furthermore, the hotel serves a hearty breakfast consisting of heotjesatbap (Andong-style bibimbap with soy sauce) and salted grilled mackerel.
17.6Km 2024-10-25
Gyeongsangbuk-do, Andong-si, Pungcheon-myeon, Hahoe-ri 1176-1
+82-54-853-0103
Le village Hahoe désigne historiquement le foyer des descendants du clan Ryu de Pungsan, le site est célèbre pour ses maisons traditionnelles. Lieu de naissance d’illustres lettrés de la période Joseon tels que Ryu Un-Ryong et Seoae Ryu Seong-Ryong, le village devint encore plus célèbre apres que la Reine Elizabeth II l’ait visité le 21 avril 1999.
Le village Hahoe (que l’on peut traduire par « Village Enveloppé d’Eau ») tire son nom du fleuve Nakdong, qui passe autour de son périmètre. Il est situé au contrefort de la montagne Hwasan, adjacente à la montagne Taebaek qui s’élève à l’est. Le centre du village est peuplé de larges maisons aux toitures en tuiles appartenant au clan Ryu, ajoutant leur charme unique aux toits de chaumes environnants.
Le village se distingue également par see charmantes vues pittoresques : l’élégant fleuve Nakdong passant autour du village, la magnifique falaise Buyongdae, des plages de sable ainsi que des pins anciens luxuriants. Les visiteurs peuvent prendre le bateau pour la falaise afin d'apprécier une vue panoramique du village.
En plus de paysages, le village propose des mets locaux raffinés. Il est possible notamment de déguster le Soju d’Andong, le Heotjesabap (type de bibimbap mangé par les nobles), le Gangodeungeo d’Andong (maquereau salé) ou encore le Guksu d’Andong (genre de plat à base de nouilles).
Les attractions à proximité incleunt les structures suivantes : le temple Bongjeongsa (érigé pendant la période Silla), la montagne Waryongsan, Gosan Seowon (une académie confucéenne), Gwiraejeong ainsi que les forêts de loisirs des montagnes Gyemyeongsan et Hakgasan.
Tout comme le village Yangdong à Gyeongju, le village Hahoe fut ajouté à la liste du Patrimoine Mondial de l’Humanité de l’UNESCO dans la catégorie « Villages Historiques de Corée » le 31 juillet 2010.
17.7Km 2023-07-10
76-3 Hahoejongga-gil, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do (경상북도 안동시 하회종가길 76-3)
Damyunjae est une demeure hanok situé à Andong dans le village Hahoe. Construite dans les années 1980, il s'agit d'un très bon exemple des demeures hanok construites de manière traditionnelle. La demeure se distingue par son côté haut de gamme et ses matériaux dignes du patrimoine culturel de la Corée. Le site a notamment reçu la visite de la reine d'Angleterre en 1999 dans le cadre de son 73ème anniversaire. Le site offre désormais des formules d'hébergement adaptés pour la détente et la découverte du patrimoine.
17.8Km 2025-08-12
69-5, Hahoenamchon-gil, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-855-8552
Gagyeongjae, or House with a Beautiful View, is a place with a thatched roof and an unhindered view. Guests can enjoy the view of natural environment over the window, with cool breeze freely flowing in the rooms. There are five rooms in total including Anchae Sangbang, Sarangchae Upper Room and Lower Room, Ondol Red Clay Lower Room, and Door Room. Guests in Anchae can use the central porch, whereas guests in Sarangchae can take advantage of the central floor as well. Ondol Red Clay Room is popular; it is heated by the owner himself through the traditional fireplace outside the room. The room, however, requires reservation at least 2 days in advance.
Air conditioners were recently installed in the hanok. Additional fees are separately charged in summer, but it is just great to enjoy air conditioning in a hanok. Note that reservation and inquiry over the phone is faster and more convenient than that on the website. There are many restaurants and places to experience in Hahoe Folk Village. It is a nice place to enjoy many things and just relax.
17.8Km 2025-03-05
68, Hahoejongga-gil, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-10-4113-8760
“Andonog Hahoe Yangjindang,” located in the Hahoe Folk Village, is Treasure No 306 and the residence of a family with the surname Pungsan Ryu. A tablet read Ipam Antique House, named after Ipam Ryu Jung Yeong (1515 - 1573), is hung on the entrance. Yangjindang is named after the nickname of Ryu Yeong (1687 - 1761), the sixth generation of Gyeongam Ryu Un Ryong, son of Ipam. The name means “nourishing well one's own nature.” The Hanok stands over the entrance, with a well-polished floor that is grand yet friendly. One of the characteristics of the house is that it includes Sarangcha or detached building, which reflects the architecture from the Goryeo period, and Anchae or main building in the architecture style from the Joseon period.
It is expected that such co-existence was made possible because of the repairs done after Imjin War. How fortiunate that the antique house has been preserved until now! The well-tended garden shows the commitment of the descendants to maintaining the space. Rooms are rather simple compared to the grand exterior of the house. Traditional mother-of-pearl furniture, tableware in the cupboard, randomly ceramics placed draw attention. The house resembles a small folk museum. Why not enjoy some traditional folk games during your stay? There is a variety of play tools such as yut, tuho, jegi, tops, and kites. Experience programs such as gayangju brewing, rice cake and traditional dessert making, and flower tea are conducted by the first daughter-in-law of the house, depending on the season.
18.0Km 2025-08-12
경상북도 안동시 임동면 경동로 2661-8
+82-10-8590-0625
Boasting more than 300 years of tradition, Jeongjae Traditional House is the head house of Ryu Chi-myeong (pen-name: Jeongjae), who inherited the study of Togye Yi Hwang (1501-1570), one of the two most prominent Korean Confucian scholars of Joseon. The old house features the characteristic construction elements of a Joseon hanok, including the stylobate, wooden pillars, toenmaru (the narrow wooden porch running along the outside of the building), tiled roof, and other structures, and commands an open view of Imha Lake. The house was originally built by Ryu Gwan-hyeon, the great-great-grandfather of Ryu Chi-myeong, in 1735 (the 11th year of the reign of King Yeongjo of Joseon) in the village of Handeul in Imdong-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do, but it was relocated to the foot of Guamsan Mountain in 1987 when Imha Dam was built and the surrounding area was submerged as a result. The house consists of the daemunchae (gate building), jeongchim (a ‘ㅁ’-shaped house with a tiled roof), haengnangchae (servants’ quarters), a shrine, and a pavilion. The sarangchae (men’s quarters) is clearly visible, while the anchae (women’s quarters) is concealed within the house. The sarangchae has a sarangmaru (wooden floor), a large sarangbang room, a small sarangbang room, and there is a small maru between the two rooms. The buildings of the sarangchae and anchae are clearly divided into segregated spaces for men and women according to Confucian tradition. The anchae has a daecheongmaru (large wooden floor) in the middle; a main room, kitchen, and toilet on the right; and a numaru (upper floor) and sangbang (upper room) on the left. The small side door of the main gate links to the door by which to enter the anchae, which has a small vegetable garden. Manujeong Pavilion (Gyeongsangbuk-do Cultural Heritage Material No. 37) is a half-hipped roof building with single-layered eaves located on the left side of the house outside the main gate. It is the place where Ryu Chi-myeong used to teach his students, and consists of a large maru and a guest room. The pavilion is also surrounded by the beautiful scenery of Imha Lake, mountains, and chestnut trees. Jeongjae Traditional House provides two special experience programs: Making Songhwaju, which is the Ryu family’s home-brewed liquor (15 to 18 degrees) made with rice, glutinous rice, yeast, pine needles, and chrysanthemums, led by the owner’s wife (Intangible Cultural Asset No. 20); and Making Tarak, which is a fermented milk drink that has been made by the Ryu’s family for some 500 years. As the recipe for making Tarak is relatively simple, and uses yeast that is usually used to make raw rice wine like Makgeolli, people can easily make it at home. The house also runs a traditional music program designed to show participants how to play the gayageum (Korean zither with twelve strings) and sing Korean folk songs, and stages small concerts.
18.8Km 2025-08-12
1714-11, Sugogyonggye-ro Imdong-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-822-6661
'Suaedang Traditional House was built by Ryu Jin-geol, also known by his pen-name of Suae, in 1939. This hanok-style house consists of three buildings that measure 29-kan (a traditional measurement that corresponds to the space between two columns) in total.
The main room, or jeongchim (7-kan at front and 2-kan at sides), has a half-hipped roof, and forms a‘ㄱ’-shape with the storeroom (10-kan at front), which also has a half-hipped roof. Originally located at 612 Sugok-dong, Andong-si, the house was relocated from a slight slope to a flat piece of land due to the construction of Imha Dam in 1987. Consequently, the Jeongchim was rebuilt at a lower level than before.
The Suaedang was renovated by modernizing the old-style facilities including the kitchen, toilets, and washroom without changing their external features, while the rooms and daecheongmaru (main floored room) were decorated with red clay and natural paint. Suaedang, with its beautiful panoramic view of the lake, was designated as Gyeongsangbuk-do Cultural Property No. 56.