43, Gyeongpo-ro 475beon-gil, Gangneung-si, Gangwon-do
Hotel Sebin is located in Gyeongpodae Beach, Gangneung, Gangwon-do. The rooms are clean and furnished with antique-style furniture. There are a total of 30 rooms in different sizes, including queen bedroom, twin room, and floor-heated rooms. The hotel has outdoor barbecue facilities that are open during the busy summer season. All the guestrooms are furnished with TV, refrigerator, air conditioner, Internet, hair dryer, and toiletries. It's very conveniently located right in front of Gyeongpodae Beach and Gyeongpo Beach with nice walking trails. There is also a seawater spa nearby. Popular tourist destinations in the vicinity of the hotel include Ojukheon House, Seongyojang House, and Chamsori Gramophone & Edison Science Museum.
1219-3, Sillicheon-ro, Gangneung-si, Gangwon-do
+82-33-661-8668 / +82-10-5387-8335
Voyager Pension located in Gangneung, Gangwon-do is a place of relaxation in nature for those tired of the city noise. It has a total of nine Family and Two-Story Rooms. Family Rooms can acccommodate up to eight people, making them a great choice for groups and families. The rooms are furnished with a TV, refrigerator, air conditioner, hair dryer, high-speed Internet, and desktop computer. The pension also has a seminar room, outdoor BBQ facilities, foot volleyball court, basketball court, and karaoke room. Biryongso Falls (15m high) is located right in front of the pension for the guests to relax in the cold water during the summer. The pension's outdoor BBQ facilities are perfect for those wishing to have a BBQ party. Nearby popular tourist attractions include Jumunjinhang Port, Gyeongpodae Pavilion, Hajodae Beach, and Chamsori Gramophone & Edison Science Museum. Yangyang International Airport is also within a short distance from the pension.
297-10, Toegye-ro, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
Chiam Old House in Anmak-dong, Andong, Gyeongsangbuk-do is an old traditional Korean house once owned by Lee Man-hyeon(pen name Chiam) who was the 11th-generation descendant of “Toegye” Yi Hwang, one of the most prominent Korean Confucian scholars of the Joseon Dynasty and a high-ranking government official during the reign of King Gojong. This house was originally located in Wonchon-ri, Dosan-myeon but was relocated to its current location in 1976 after a flood caused by the collapse of Andong Dam. Chiam Old House consists of 22 rooms, 5 gates, and 1 detached building. The main building is taller than the detached building. One of the unique features of this detached building is that it has both gable roof and gambrel roof on either side. Listed as Gyeongsangbuk-do Folklore Material No. 11, Chiam Old House now serves as a guesthouse for those wishing to experience an old traditional Korean house. The rooms that are open to guests are “Seongmyeongjae,” “Gyeongeopjae,” and “Nakseongdang.” The large room called “Bakkatchae,” or outer building, is the most comfortable one to stay in for a night, since it's furnished with kitchen, TV, air conditioner, and bathroom. “Seongmyeongjae” means “honesty and integrity” in Korean. It’s an “ondol (Korean floor heating system)” room typical of any traditional Korean house, where you have to sleep on the floor. "Gyeongeopjae" is the most popular one among the guests, and its name means “unselfish and reverent.” The rooms next to the gate called “Ilgeonjae,” “Seokcheonjae,” and “Hakgujae” located along the wall are great places to stay if you want to see the surroundings and the old house at the same time. “Jamnyongdang” on the east side of the main building is named after the small pond in the yard, and it means “to strive to be a man of virtue like the dragon flying in the sky.” There are lots of beautiful flowers in the small garden in complete harmony with the old house and surrounding mountains, making it a great place to take a leisurely walk as you experience the history.
2830-6, Pungsantaesa-ro Seohu-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
'Hakbong Head House is the head house of the Uiseong Kim clan and was originally built near Sogyeseodang Village School by Kim Gwang-chan, an 8th-generation descendant of Hakbong Kim Seong-il, in 1762. In 1964, the house was moved to its current location.
The main building (bonchae) was extended from a ‘ㅁ’-shaped structure to a ‘巳’–shape structure. The anchae (women’s quarters) consists of a daecheong (main floored room) measuring 2-kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) on the right, an anbang measuring 2-kan on the left, and kitchen at the end. The upper part of the low-ceilinged kitchen has a gobang (storeroom) in which household goods used to be stored. The daecheong is large compared to the overall size of the house because head houses usually held many ancestral rites.
The Hakbong Head House has an impressive modern garden that was created during construction work carried out when the house was relocated after the Japanese colonial era. The well-maintained garden with its fantastically-shaped trees and rocks also serves as a venue for musical concerts on a regular basis. Guests will surely be fascinated to find out about the history of the people who once inhabited this house and dedicated themselves to the country in times of trouble.
37-17, Gwiho 1-gil, Hwanam-myeon, Yeongcheon-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
The Gwiae Traditional House is a 200-year-old aristocrat’s residence consisting of various hanok structures, a pavilion, a pond, and a shrine set amid its expansive grounds. Located in Yeongcheon Byeolbyeol Misulmaul (Star Art Village) where modern artworks can be seen here and there, the house too is surrounded by various artworks as well as the beautiful natural environment of Yeongcheon, including Bohyeonsan Mountain, Palgongsan Mountain, Unjuhan Recreational Forest, and Saryongsan Mountain. Thanks to the Art Village project, the village has acquired a distinguished charm all its own by combining the antique beauty of traditional houses with modern art and public design. The village is full of attractions as well as traditional structures, including Pungyeongjeong Pavilion, which was built to commemorate the life of Gwon Eung-do, an eminent Confucian scholar of Joseon, and the Cian Art Museum, which established in a closed-down school and has three exhibition rooms, an outdoor sculpture park, and an art shop.
Belonging to the descendants of Jo Geuk-seung (1803∼1877), a Confucian scholar of the late Joseon period, the Gwiae Traditional House comprises a sarangchae (detached building), an anchae (women’s quarters), a daemunchae (building next to the gate), and Gwiaejeong Pavilion (Gyeongbuk Provincial Cultural Heritage No. 339), which has double-layered eaves and a half-hipped roof, and measures four kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) at the front and three kan at the sides. There is also a hexagonal pavilion connected with a bridge and a lotus pond. The house also has four installation artworks such as a sculpture of a child and a puppy getting stars, and a turtle sculpture with Lee Geum-hong’s calligraphy.
Opened as a hanok stay in 2013, the house has 8 guestrooms and offers a variety of traditional games such as Tuho (Arrow-throwing), Neolttwigi (Korean see-saw game), and Jegichagi (Korean shuttlecock game) in the courtyard.
88-9, Doldam-gil Changpyeong-myeon, Damyang-gun, Jeollanam-do
Hanok Pension is an old traditional Korean house located in Samjinae Village, Changpyeong-myeon, Damyang-gun, the first village in Asia to be listed as a 'Slow Village.' It has 15 guestrooms in traditional Korean house buildings along a stone-wall road just like in the old days in Korea. The guesthouse is conveniently located for those planning to visit Juknokwon (Bamboo Garden) and Metasequoia Street, which is regarded as the most beautiful street in Korea, because they are all within 30 minutes away from the guesthouse on foot. The old traditional Korean house consists of one main building and two detached buildings, between which is a large front yard. The two detached buildings are divided into different sections for the guests to stay in. You will see lots of different wild flowers in and around the premises. The tea room is another popular feature of the guesthouse because of the calming atmosphere.
7, Duteopbawi-ro 25-gil, Yongsan-gu, Seoul
Banana Backpackers is very conveniently located in Yongsan, Seoul, near Sookmyung Women's University Station and Seoul Station where you can use both KTX and subway; thus making it easy to get to any part of Seoul. Popular landmarks and tourist destinations nearby include Namsan Seoul Tower, Namdaemun Market, War Memorial of Korea, Hyochang Park, and National Museum of Korea. It has various types of guestrooms, including Single Room for one person and Double, Triple, and Family Rooms for 2~4 people. Its affordable room rates made it a very popular place to lodge particularly among young people visiting Seoul from other countries. There is a TV in the lounge and in the lobby where you can get tour information. There are also washing machines for those who need to wash their clothes during their stay, not to mention a rooftop terrace commanding a great view of the area.
181-21, Bongseoan-gil, Yongjin-eup, Wanju-gun, Jeollabuk-do
The Dueok Happy Dream Village Farming Association Corporation runs a hanok-style guesthouse situated in Dueok Happy Dream Village, which is surrounded by high, clean mountains. Also known as Bongseogol, the village is a pleasant farming community located deep in the lush green mountains of Wanju-gun, Jeollabuk-do, and is also well known as one of the eight best propitious sites in Korea – Jongnamsan Mountain on its right and Seobangsan Mountain on its left are said to resemble a phoenix('Bonghwang' in Korean) embracing the village (hence the name of the village is ‘Bongseo’).
Dueok Village was re-born as Dueok Happy Dream Village as part of the rural village revitalization project carried out in Wanju County. The village has jointly run diverse hanok buildings (ranging from about 45 to 150 years old) as hanok-style guesthouses, along with various hands-on programs, since 2010. The Dueok Happy Dream Village Farming Association Corporation now runs the guestrooms and a large experience center, and only accepts groups of guests. The experience center offers education programs on traditional etiquette, and also operates reenactments of the ancient civil service examination. It also offers guests three good meals a day consisting of rural-style healthy food served with wild vegetables and various side dishes at a reasonable price.
The guesthouse comprises tile-roofed houses on both sides set amid a large grassy field against a background of green mountains. The guestrooms feature a simple yet pleasant design and are equipped with ondol (under-the-floor heating) without air-conditioning. The experience center is notable for its ten doors which can be opened by lifting them up toward the ceiling, thereby providing an open view of the beautiful landscape.
Furthermore, the village, which has been designated as a rural experience and recreational village, runs a wide variety of hands-on programs, including a Nature Experience program consisting of a forest tour with a guide, Making a Wish Necklace, Walking on the Myeongdang (propitious site), Rice Farming, Digging Sweet Potatoes, Traditional Folk Games (archery, steel hoop rolling), Rice Cake Pounding, Making Scarecrows, and Making a Kite, among others. It also offers Sori Hakdang and etiquette education programs as a two-day course.
2806, Sobaek-ro, Sunheung-myeon, Yeongju-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
Located in Yeongju City, Gyeongsangbuk-do Province, the Korea Seonbi Culture Training Center is situated alongside the Sosuseowon Confucian Academy. It was the first local private school to be granted a name by the king, and pays tribute to An Yang (1243-1306), a leading Confucian scholar born in Yeongju. The center runs a variety of traditional culture experience programs related to Confucian culture with the aim of developing the character and abilities of young people by educating them in the spirit of the Seonbi (Confucian scholars), including ye (propriety), hyo (filial piety), and other Confucian principles. Opened on October 18, 2008, the Korea Seonbi Culture Training Center consists of a replica of an old provincial government office in Sunheung that measures 99-kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns) and comprises 17 small hanok buildings on a 60,395㎡ site. It diverse facilities include a training center, accommodation, handicraft workshop experience center, traditional food experience center, wildflower garden, pond, marsh, haengrangchae (servants’ quarters), traditional tea shop, seminar room, etc.
968, Gucheondong-ro, Muju-gun, Jeollabuk-do
Muju Deogyusan Leisure Biketel is located in the valley of Gucheon-dong, Muju, which is one of the best places in Korea to enjoy various types of leports. Built by Muju-gun Office for mountain biking clubs and other sports clubs, the guesthouse also serves as a one-stop shop for those wishing to lodge, repair their bicycle, obtain tourist information, and buy local specialties. The "Chinese Duck", "Japanese Yew", and "Royal Azalea" Rooms are large guestrooms designed for groups and families. The "Royal Azalea" Room in particular is big enough to accommodate up to 15 people, making it a great choice for mountain biking clubs, seminar, and families. There are very affordable guestrooms that only cost KRW 10,000 per person as well.
86, Gwangdeoksolbat-gil Pungcheon-myeon, Andong-si, Gyeongsangbuk-do
+82-54-854-2202 / +82-10-4520-3640
Ogyeonjeongsa House was established by Ryu Seong-yong (pen-name: Seoae, 1542-1607), a minister of Joseon, with the help of Buddhist monk Tanhong, as a place to study and educate his students. After building Wonjijeongsa House, Ryu wanted to build another house at the foot of Buyongdae Cliff amid a tranquil environment away from the village, but due to his financial situation he was unable to complete the building by himself. Then, the monk Tanhong helped him build Ogyeonjeongsa House, which took ten years (1576 to 1586) to complete, when Ryu was 45 years old. Later, Ryu Seong-yong was able to share warmth with his brother (Gyeomam), who lived in nearby Gyeomamjeongsa House. Ryu later lost his house in Hahoe in the great flood of the Nakdonggang River in 1605, and retired to Ogyeongjeongsa House where he wrote Jingbirok (The Book of Correction, National Treasure 132), a memoir of the Imjin War (Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592). The house’s guestrooms include Sesimjae (meaning ‘having a mind to this place to achieve at least one in ten thousand things,’ inspired by the I Ching or The Book of Changes), which was used by Ryu as a schoolhouse and has two small rooms between the maru gamheonrok (wooden floor, meaning ‘looking up at the sky and down at the blue water,’ inspired by Wang Xizhi’s poetic diction); Wonlakjae (meaning ‘waiting for a friend’s visit,’ inspired by the Analects of Confucius), in which Ryu himself resided and wrote Jingbirok; and the maru aeoheon (meaning ‘I also love my hut,’ taken from a poem by Chinese poet Tao Yuanming), which measures two kan (a unit of measurement referring to the distance between two columns).
2nd floor, 51, Myeongdong 8ga-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul
Tomo Residence, located in Chungmu-ro, Seoul, is a three-story (2F – 4F) residential style of accommodation that is particularly popular among tourists from Japan, China, and Southeast Asian countries. It has various types of comfortable rooms and a communal kitchen suitable for preparing a simple breakfast and cooking. It offers easy access to public transportation as it is just 3 minutes’ walk from the nearest subway station and 5 minutes’ walk from the bus stop. Each room is equipped with essential amenities including a TV, air conditioner, and bathroom, and guests can use the communal PC to print out and fax documents. As most of its guests are young people, a photo zone optimized for Facebook is situated in front of the information desk.