Hapdeokje Reservoir (합덕제) - Area information - Korea travel information

Hapdeokje Reservoir (합덕제)

17.4 Km    0     2023-07-17

395 Hapdeok-ri, Hapdeok-eup, Dangjin-si, Chungcheongnam-do

Hapdeokje is a reservoir located in Dangjin, Chungcheongnam-do. Designated as a Chungcheongnam-do Monument in 1989, it is known to have been built in the late Unified Silla period for the irrigation of Yedang Plain (Sodeulgangmun Gate). It attracts many tourists in spring with cherry blossoms and canola flower blossoms and in summer with lotus flowers in full bloom. The Hapdeokje Ecotourism Experience Center (opened in 2021) and Hapdeok Folk Irrigation Museum are located nearby, so you can stop by when traveling in the area.

Hamdeok Catholic Church (합덕성당)

Hamdeok Catholic Church (합덕성당)

17.5 Km    752     2023-06-22

16 , Hapdeokseongdang 2-gil, Dangjin-si, Chungcheongnam-do

Hamdeok Catholic Church was built in 1929 in the gothic style. The church started out as Yangchon Catholic Church in Sanggung-ri, but was moved to the current location by the priest, and renamed Hamdeok Catholic Church. The name was later changed to New Apdeok Catholic Church before being returned to the current Hamdeok Catholic Church.

Yongbongsan Mountain (용봉산)

17.6 Km    68795     2024-01-15

Sangha-ri, Hongbuk-eup, Hongseong-gun, Chungcheongnam-do

Yongbongsan Mountain is relatively small mountain, reaching a x_height of just 381 meters, but is filled with beautiful rocky outcroppings and peaks. The mountain's name comes from its ridgeline, resembling a dragon with the head of a phoenix. The mountain is home to a wide range of Korean plants, including Korean pine trees, and cultural heritages such as Yongbongsa Temple.

Seosan Buseoksa Temple (부석사(서산))

Seosan Buseoksa Temple (부석사(서산))

17.9 Km    16153     2021-11-23

243, Buseoksa-gil, Seosan-si, Chungcheongnam-do
+82-41-662-3824

Located on Dobisan Mountain in Seosan, Chungcheongnam-do, Buseoksa Temple was built by the Great Monk Uisang in 677, the 17th year of King Munmu of Silla, and was later rebuilt by Great Monk Muhak during the Joseon dynasty. The temple houses eight seated Buddha statues and attracts many visitors due to its magnificent surrounding scenery.

Solmoe Holy Ground (솔뫼성지)

Solmoe Holy Ground (솔뫼성지)

18.0 Km    8698     2020-02-10

132, Solmoe-ro, Ugang-myeon, Dangjin-si, Chungcheongnam-do
+82-41-362-5021

'Solmeo' gets its name from a small cluster of pine trees. The first Korean priest, Saint Kim Dae-gun Andrea was born here on August 21, 1821 and when he was seven, he escaped persecution by following his grandfather to Handeok-dong, Yongin (Golmaemashil). Furthermore, it is where four generations of ancestors such as his great-grandfather Kim Jin-hu (martyred in 1814), great uncle Kim Han-hyun (1816), father Kim Jae-jun (1839), and priest Kim Dae-gun himself (martyred in 1846) lived.

He was chosen as a theological student in Golmaemashil and studied in Macao. In 1846, he was ordained as priest by Bishop Ferréol in Shanghai, Kim Ga Hang Cathedral. After his return to Korea, he worked in Yongin until September 1846 when he was tried, executed and died a martyr when he was only 26. Pope Johannes Paulus II appointed him a saint during his visit to Korea in May 1984. In Solmoe, Priest Kim Dae-gun’s statue and a memorial stands underneath the pine trees and his remains are placed inside the nearby cathedral.

House and Tomb of Kim Jeong-hui (추사김정희선생고택·묘)

18.9 Km    20028     2024-02-21

261, Chusagotaek-ro, Sinam-myeon, Yesan-gun, Chungcheongnam-do

This house and tomb are where Kim Jeong-hui (pen name: Chusa, 1786-1856), a Joseon-era scholar and artist, lived and was laid to rest. Chusa Memorial Hall and Chusa Experience Center are found next to the house. After studying in Qing China, Kim Jeong-hui served in multiple government posts. He is best known for his unique calligraphical style, which bears his courtesy name (Chusa), and many works of art that survive to this day. The Experience Center offers traditional art experiences inspired by Kim Jeong-hui’s works.

House of Chusa (추사고택)

House of Chusa (추사고택)

19.0 Km    14764     2022-12-28

261, Chusagotaek-ro, Yesan-gun, Chungcheongnam-do
+82-41-339-8248

House of Chusa, Chusa Gotaek in Korean, is the traditional Korean house of the renowned scholar and calligrapher Chusa, also known as Kim Jeong-hui. This old house is known to have been constructed by the great-grandfather of Chusa, Kim Han-Sin.

The Korean-style house compound (266.11 m²) consists of munganchae (a guesthouse), soseuldaemun (a high gate), sarangchae (ㄱ-shaped men's quarters), anchae (ㅁ-shaped women’s quarters) and a shrine where the remains of Chusa are enshrined. Theㄱ-shaped Sarangchae stretches for one kan (traditional measuring unit) to the south and 2 kans to the east and is comprised of two rooms and a daecheongmaru (living area). The Anchae consists of a six-kan daecheongmaru and two one-kan rooms.

Located on the ground is a tomb where Chusa’s great-grandfather (Kim Han-Sin) and his wife (Hwasun Princess) are buried. Nearby, visitors will see a gate that was constructed to commemorate Princess Hwasun’s faithfulness to her husband.

Located approximately 600 meters to the north of the old house is a lacebark pine tree, which was designated as a Natural Monument. The lacebark pine tree, originally from northern China, is among the few of its kind in Korea. It is said that Chusa snuck the pine across the border from China (formerly, the Qing dynasty) into the country when he was 25 years old and planted it at the tomb of his great-grandfather. Originally, the tree had three branches, but two were broken and the third branch was damaged. In 1980, the damaged branch was treated and since then, the tree has been kept under strong protection.

Yesan Hwaamsa Temple (화암사 (예산)

19.2 Km    7473     2020-04-04

21-29, Yonggung 1-gil, Yesan-gun, Chungcheongnam-do
+82-41-332-9250

Hwaamsa Temple is located near Joseon dynasty's scholar and writer Kim Jeong-hui's, also referred to his pen name Chusa, house. The temple has ties with the ancient writer, as the temple is known to have been repaired and renovated by Kim Jeong-hui's great grandfather. There are no records that explains the foundation of Hwaamsa Temple, and only a timeline of its reconstruction can be found in "Records of Hwaamsa Temple Restoration" plaque, which is displayed in Sudeoksa Temple Museum. The timeline was recorded by Kim Myeong-hee in 1848, and written by Kim Seong-hee, and carved by Cho Seok-shin. The name "Hwaamsa" was given by King Yeongjo (r. 1724-1776).

Seosan Palbongsan Mountain (팔봉산(서산))

Seosan Palbongsan Mountain (팔봉산(서산))

19.3 Km    48765     2021-04-30

Yanggil-ri, Seosan-si, Chungcheongnam-do
+82-41-662-2004

Palbongsan Mountain stretches out like a folding screen and stands high with great spirit. It is known that the mountain was named Palbong (“eight peaks” in Korean) because of its eight peaks standing in a row. There are actually nine peaks, but the smallest was not included. Legend says the smallest weeps over its exclusion at the end of every December. The third peak is the highest, standing at 362 meters with a beautiful view and crisp air, making it ideal for hiking (3-hour course) and resting at the top. There is another mountain of the same name in Hongcheon, so this mountain is usually referred to as “Seosan Palbongsan.”

Historic Site Related to Seong Sam-mun (성삼문선생유허지)

Historic Site Related to Seong Sam-mun (성삼문선생유허지)

19.4 Km    0     2024-01-18

403-12 Maejukheon-gil, Hongbuk-eup, Hongseong-gun, Chungcheongnam-do

This historic site related to Seong Sam-mun is believed to be the birthplace of Seong Sam-mun, and was founded by his maternal ancester, Park Dam. A shrine was built here in 1685 to honor Seong Sam-mun and the five others ministers who were executed with him for their plot to restore King Danjong to the throne after he was exhiled by his uncle. The site was destroyed in 1864 when Confucian facilities were removed by the government, but was later rebuilt in 1945.